January Wrap-up

 

I read seven books in January, two of which were just a hundred pages each, not as many as i had expected to read but not a bad number.

IMG_6881

A Dance with Dragons took up a lot of time as i was reluctant to finish it with Winds of Winter being delayed even further, but i read some really excellent books this month. Needless to say A Dance with Dragons was exceptional like the rest of the ASOIAF series. I was pleasantly  surprised by November 9 and Bonjour Tristesse, and not so pleasantly  surprised by The Red Queen which was just a tad bit disappointing.

I tried to read a lot of different genres this month and really loved The Handmaid’s Tale which is a dystopian, speculative fiction and Animal Farm which is a political satire. I will be experimenting more with genres in the future as well, i hate missing a good book just because its in a genre i don’t normally read. I am looking forward to reading more of Margaret Atwood because she is an excellent author although dystopia is really not my genre.

The Cuckoo’s Calling was great as i expected from J.K Rowling, she has magic in her fingers, she can write on any subject and do it excellently. I’m betting she’s an alumnus of Hogwarts secretly for her writing is no mere muggles work! Waiting to read the rest of the Strike series, they’re so engrossing.

That’s all for January, i’m hoping to read more books in February to reach my goal of a 100 books by the end of the year. February is my self appointed classics month, so i’ll be reading a lot of Jane Austen, the Bronte sisters and some Dickens.

Thanks for visiting, do leave your comments below i’d love to hear from you all 🙂

Disclaimer: All these books were bought by me from amazon

4 thoughts on “January Wrap-up

Leave a comment